. . .

RIP Corrine Day

In Uncategorized on August 31, 2010 at 8:21 PM

This is sad. Fashion photographer Corrine Day has passed away to cancer at the ridiculously young age from 45. I actually don’t know a whole lot about her life or work but I had to mention this news because she is the woman who shot those iconic pictures and cover of Kate Moss for fabulous, now-defunct, UK mag The Face before Kate was anywhere near famous. Why is this worth a mention? Well, personal reasons I guess. Apart from being a mega famous cover and shoot anyway (hells, it launched Kate! Plus, she’s smiling which I don’t think she’s ever done since), I remember that cover shoot and mag so well! It was the first Face mag I ever bought and one of the first, great, cool, eye-opening publications I managed to get my hands on which introduced me to a whole world of awesome outside my little semi-country town of 1990s Perth. And, in the days before internet and blogs and second-to-second updates on what was happening in the (cool) world out there, that was a massive thing. It was a fundamental visual trigger to setting me on the path to loving pictures, fashion, 1990s uber-models (Oh Cindy! Oh Christy!), England, London, Madchester, Glastonbury Festival, magazines, music, posters, design and I guess, eventually, this life I lead now which I love and which now involves graphic design. I never knew it set me on that path until much later but my current happiness with studies and jobs and all things designy is testimony to how great an unintended influence someone creative like Corrine Day can have. What a sad thing she has gone so soon. What a great visual legacy to leave behind though.

Click on the picture for a link to the complete Face spread thanks to The Fashion Spot.

For more info on Corrine Day (plus AMAZING, beautiful photos) jump here – http://www.corinneday.co.uk

Leave a Reply

