. . .

Beauty in data (not as crazy as it sounds)

In Uncategorized on September 7, 2010 at 11:34 AM

Am in love with data visualisation at the moment. It seems like the most beautiful, intuitive and intelligent way to translate raw and other data for the other half of the world that doesn’t think in pure text and figures. There’s several blogs and sites which document this stuff, amongst them;

Information Is Beautiful

The Infographics Showcase and

Cool Infographics

But check out this talk on TED.com by David McCandless. McCandless founded and runs the Information is Beautiful site I listed above. He offers an intro to data visualisation which will probably make you fall in love with it too. And I’m SURE it’s not just his velvety chocolate voice which is somehow reminiscent of Jarvis Cocker’s (oh Jarvis..)

  1. Haha;) Australia IS safe now! Relatively. Did you see my song dedication to Tony on fbook and here? I couldn’t help it…

    Monocle? Well, I think I shall have to know. I’m fairly sure that what you find inspiring, I’m going to as well! I’m going to check it tonight properly finally and, most probably, ignite yet another addiction. Yay for addictions! (erm, of the inspiring kind).
    xx

  2. I LOVE Monocle.

    I think you would too.

    Just lettin’ you know.

    (It’s an investment, but it’s worth it – and not every month, but whenever the themes tickle your fancy.)

    You should check out their website to begin with: http://www.monocle.com/

    Right. I’ll go back to communicating with you o’er FB.

    PS: Australia. Safe for now.

  3. Miss Ming. Thank you for conversing with me here;) No I didn’t see that show although I did hear about it (sad casualty of my no TV rule). I will see if I can find some eps though.

    Monocle no. Do you? I’ve heard lotttttttts about it. Have been meaning to dedicate a few spare (ha!) hours of my time to exploring this little gem. Apparently it’s taking over the world!

  4. Did you ever watch this? It’s sadly off air now (no idea why the Auntie cans its best shows…) but the infographics reminded me of some gorgeous little newsie segues they did: http://hungrybeast.abc.net.au/ See if you can find a couple if you haven’t seen them already, you’ll love them.

    Also, do you read Monocle?

Leave a Reply

