. . .

It’s a Debussy day today

In Uncategorized on October 6, 2010 at 2:42 PM

Rainy, stormy, I’m stuck in this office until I make my big break (it’s all happening๐Ÿ˜‰ ). But had fabulous lunch at Von Haus with Lee and am now luxuriating in a cocoon of my Sony headphones&iPod and beautiful but entirely frustrating Debussy. Frustrating? Well, it took me a long time to realise why classical music is so frustrating at the same time as being soooo heavenly. Why did it seem to matter? That is, apart from being annoyed with myself for squandering all those childhood lessons by not practising (one day, after this design degree is done, I will learn music all over again…). But why should it be infuriating at times, like someone is holding you back or not telling you a secret? Why could I not just accept it as beautiful noise?

Then I realised – listening to classical music is like hearing passionate people speak in a foreign language and me absolutely loving the sound of it but never knowing what is actually being said. At some point it gets frustrating! Still though, a friend showed me this music animation a few weeks ago (see below) and I suddenly felt like we – my brain and music – were in communication. Maybe not in the way Debussy originally intended it but…I get the colour thing. Suddenly I can see what he might have been saying.

(click on the contributor smalen’s link here or under the vid on youtube. There’s LOADS more)

  1. Oooooh, Debussy ๐Ÿ™‚ Golliwog’s Cakewalk is Booyah!

  2. Haha. Booyah mean ‘right on!’ and is a legendary comment!

  3. I don’t actually know what “Booyah” means.

  4. Debussy’s my homeboy. Booyah.

Leave a Reply

